New leadership, 4 new members, for Quakertown Community School Board

By Gary Weckselblatt

Four new members took their seats on the Quakertown Community School Board on Dec. 7, as Magisterial District Justice Robert Roth gave the oath of office to Keith Micucci, Kaylyn Mitchell, David Ochmanowicz and Jennifer Weed.

Steaven Klein was unanimously named President while Austin Sedicum won a 5-4 vote to become Vice President.

(To see photos of the evening, please click here).

"The existing board comes in with its philosophy and the four new members come in with their philosophy," Klein said. "It's important for me is to find common ground, build consensus and get things done. It's all about giving the kids the best education they can get."

Klein was appointed to the Board in March, 2015, following the resignation of Anna Cattie. He has lived in Quakertown since 1988, and had his three children go through the school district. He is a national sales manager with Austin Hardware.

"I'm looking forward to the next year," he said. "I'm excited with what the administration is doing. We're getting better with curriculum. The number of kids in Advanced Placement classes is steadily growing. We're doing fantastic things, and I'd like to see them continue."

Klein was referring to this week's announcement that QCSD made the AP District Honor Roll for the fourth year in a row. This year, Quakertown is the only Bucks County District on the list.

Sedicum, the Board's new Vice President, has a podiatry practice in Quakertown. He has been on the Board since Dec. 2015.

Besides the Board's leadership and new members, directors include Dwight Anderson, Ron Jackson and Jonathan Kern.

Gary Weckselblatt, director of communications, writes about the people and the programs that impact the Quakertown Community School District. He can be reached at 215-529-2028 or

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.